The health benefits of weight lifting go beyond big muscles

When someone in his twenties is described as “strong,” chances are the subject is muscles. Call someone in his sixties “strong,” and chances are the subject is character. Time to change the
perception.

The benefits of strong muscles — particularly for people above 50, and particularly for women — are vast. In fact, in the hierarchy of health pursuits, building stronger muscles is near the very top. Why? Here are just a few reasons:

Strong muscles help you lose weight.And it’s not just the exercise involved to become strong that matters. Muscle tissue burns as much as 15 times more calories per day than does fat tissue — even when at rest! Nothing stokes your metabolism better than muscle.

Strong muscles are healthy for your heart. That’s because they can perform better with less oxygen, meaning the heart doesn’t have to pump hard when you are active. By extension, strong muscles are good for your blood pressure.

Strong muscles protect your joints and your back. More muscle power means you put less strain on joints and connective tissue when lifting or exerting. And that’s awfully important both for treating and preventing arthritis.

Strong muscles improve your looks. Lean muscles are taut against your body, as opposed to flab, which hangs and sags.

Strong muscles give you a mental boost. You feel more energized, and you feel prouder about yourself.

Strong muscles require active living. You can’t get strong muscles from a pill, a meal, or an herb. The mere fact that you have strong muscles means you are being active, and as we have been saying, nothing drags your health down like sedentary living.

Strong muscles help fight free radicals. Research shows that when regular folks lift weights regularly, they have less damage to their body from free radicals than those who are sedentary.

The consensus is growing: Strong muscles are good for everyone. In fact, the American Heart Association now recommends that all adults strength train their major muscle groups at least twice a week. Time for you to get on board.

Read more: http://www.rd.com/health/fitness/the-importance-of-strength-training/#ixzz2UPihvsBY

Reference: http://www.rd.com/health/fitness/the-importance-of-strength-training/

12 thoughts on “The health benefits of weight lifting go beyond big muscles

  1. Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few
    of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but
    I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same results.

  2. Hey! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established blog like yours require a lot of work?

    I’m brand new to running a blog however I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and
    views online. Please let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

  3. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this
    sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled
    upon this site. Studying this information So i’m glad to express that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed.
    I such a lot surely will make sure to don?
    t fail to remember this site and provides it a look on
    a relentless basis.

  4. Howdy! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I had to
    ask. Does managing a well-established website like yours take
    a large amount of work? I am brand new to operating a blog but
    I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

